Rapid disappoint as Bulls gather pace

Rapid Vienna are perilously close to failing to qualify for Europe after garnering just one point against Kapfenberg.The team of Zoran Barisic remain in fifth place after their 1-1 in Kapfenberg on Saturday as chances to reach the Europa League are dwindling. Rapid were more often in possession of the ball against the struggling side of Werner Gregoritsch, but – apart from the out-of-the-blue 1-0 by Stefan Kulovits (10’) – failed to create any threat to the home side’s goal.Kapfenberg experienced difficulties in their attempts to equalise Rapid’s early lead before Slovenia’s 2010 World Cup ace Matej Mavric took advantage of a penalty they were awarded around 10 minutes from the end.Rapid’s traditionally strong support punished their team with silence for most of the first half to show their anger about the way the club were beaten by SV Ried in the ÖFB Cup semi final last week. Meanwhile, the pressure on club bosses to name a new coach for next season is on the rise as Barisic does not have the professional UEFA manager licence. Reports have it that the ex-midfielder will stay on board as assistant manager regardless of who will take the hot seat in summer.Austria Vienna remain in second position in the league standings after cruising past LASK Linz 5-0. Leaders Sturm Graz claimed a goalless draw against cup finalists Ried while Red Bull Salzburg crushed Magna Wiener Neustadt 4-0. Ninth-placed Mattersburg beat newly-promoted Wacker Innsbruck 2-1.Match action in the Austrian Bundesliga continues already tomorrow (Tues) when the Bulls face Kapfenberg. The next day, Innsbruck host Ried while Magna clash with LASK. Rapid will play against Mattersburg and Sturm face Austria Vienna. The match between the leaders and the vice champions will be screened live on ORF 1 (kickoff: 8.30pm). Pay TV network Sky will broadcast all five matches live.The Austrian Bundesliga table after 32 of 36 rounds:Sturm Graz, 56 pointsAustria Vienna, 54Red Bull Salzburg, 53SV Ried, 50Rapid Vienna, 49Wacker Innsbruck, 46Magna Wiener Neustadt, 45Kapfenberg, 35SV Mattersburg, 29LASK Linz, 18