Sturm celebrate Bundesliga triumph

Sturm Graz have won the Austrian Football Bundesliga for a third time in the club’s history.The team managed by German Franco Foda beat Wacker Innsbruck 2-1 last night (Weds). Red Bull Salzburg (RBS), who won the league last season, overtook Austria Vienna to claim second place in the final standings. The squad of Ricardo Moniz celebrated a 4-2 win against last year’s vice champions away from home.SV Ried – who face second-league side Austria Lustenau in the ÖFB Cup final this Sunday – finish the season in fourth. The team of Paul Gludovatz defeated Kapfenberg 2-0 in yesterday’s last round. The match between SV Mattersburg and Magna Wiener Neustadt – who will be coached by ex-national team midfielder Peter Stöger – ended 1-1. LASK Linz – who will be relegated – suffered a 1-2 defeat against Rapid Vienna.Sturm previously won the Bundesliga in 1998 and 1999 when Ivica Osim was in charge. The club was founded in 1909.Foda said about his team’s triumph: “We won the cup last season, now we have won the league. A dream has come true.”Sturm defender Ferdinand Feldhofer called the victory a “fairytale for Sturm and (the province of) Styria.”Sturm striker Roman Kienast was the second-best striker this season with 19 goals. Only Austria Vienna captain Roland Linz found the net more often (21). Rapid’s Hamdi Salihi and RBS ace Roman Wallner are tied for third place with 18 goals each.Now all eyes are on the Austrian national team. The squad of Dietmar Constantini are set to clash with rivals Germany at Vienna’s Ernst Happel Stadium on 3 June. The match will start at 8.30pm. ORF 1 will broadcast all the action live. All of the 50,000 available tickets were sold some months ago.Austria have only a theoretical chance to qualify for next year’s European Championship which will take place in Poland and Ukraine. The team most recently lost against Belgium and Turkey.The Austrian Bundesliga standings at the end of the 2010/2011 season:Sturm Graz, 66 pointsRed Bull Salzburg, 63Austria Vienna, 61SV Ried, 58Rapid Vienna, 53Wacker Innsbruck, 50Magna Wiener Neustadt, 50Kapfenberg, 38SV Mattersburg, 31LASK Linz, 19